OBSOLETE: Vajhoran Cosmology – OBSOLETE



Vajhoran cosmology holds that the world consists of four parallel planes of massive (and possibly infinite) extent. At the top of the universe is the plane of light, which is a solid and unvarying substance. Some distance below is the plane of the stars, which is also solid and opaque, but pierced through with numerous holes through which the light shines. Below, clouds hang in the air, having drifted down through the stars. Next is the earth; water sits on the lower-lying parts of this varied plane. The earth has a number of holes in it, through which the sun and moons pass. Below is a darker, starless emptiness filled with water; at the very bottom is another plane of rock, this time with no holes.

Studies have demonstrated that the part of the earth in which Vajhoros is located is at the summit of a large pseudo-spherical mound. Some have suggested that the entire world is a globe, which would not be a radical reformation of the traditional belief, but the idea is in any case not yet widely accepted.

In keeping with this cosmology, popular belief holds that there are four sentient species. In the centre of the world are the humans. Beyond lie twilight star-lit lands where the is no sun or moon, or only a faint light of one in the distance; here there live colossal, slow-moving reptiles – dragons. Above, on the top side of the night sky, live star-children, constantly bathing in perpetual light; the light makes them able to float through the sky, and in the lower realms they can glow with blinding brilliance and cause fires with their touch; but they have no reason to intentionally descend. One comes to earth by accident every generation or so, as a meteor dropping from the plane of light breaks through their realm before it plunges to earth. If the star-child does not rapidly find a way to return, it may become bitter and hateful, a demonic figure. Finally, on the bottom of the abyssal sea below the earth dwell the fomorians, blind water-breathers. When young, they may swim up to the pools and oceans of the earth, and lure down humans from jealousy – they can cast illusions and appear as beautiful temptresses or dead loved ones. They are attracted to light, but are destroyed by sunlight, and even weakened by strong firelight – if undisturbed, they may gather around a house, gazing at the fire, until they become so weak they cannot move. Those who do not die on earth eventually eat enough (mostly of one another) that they become too huge and heavy to swim up to the earth, and the oldest and largest are confined to the very bottom of the abyss.

Each species has two parts – body and spirit. They are not interchangeable – only a human spirit can appear in a human body (though the odd children’s tale claims an exception here or there). The two are entirely theoretically independent – although the body and spirit may influence one another, either may exist without the other, and they are not inseparably tied to one another. Spirits are beings of will, and lust for power, which the body gives them; a spirit clings desperately to its body, and rarely gives it up, although it is not unknown – possessions, for instance, or dementia. Eventually the body breaks down and stops working, but the spirit remains just as it was before. Disembodied spirits retain a form of primitive consciousness, and a geographical location, although they can move as fast as the wind. Nonetheless, they have little reason to. Being disembodied is a form of torture for the spirit – being purely of will, they are mostly wholly impotent.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s