Note to self

An important thing for me to remember is that I can’t speak German. I try every now and then, but each time I am reminded that I cannot speak German. I divide responsibility for this failure between two culprits: the fact I never learnt German, and the fact that whatever poor pale inception of a simulacrum of German I may once at school have begun to learn I have long since forgotten.

The chief consequence of attempting to write in German for me seems to be that the return to familiarity from the frustrations of a language I struggle to say anything in does tend to cause me to run havoc with my English syntax in a surfeit of ebulliance. Witness this post.

Leave a Reply

