Housekeeping post

As you can see, I’ve now finished that series on deixis, and I’ve constructed the first (of hopefully many) index post on this blog. For convenience later on, the index for the entire set can be reached via the stationary index page.

In other news: been busy with things. Progressing well on my book, at least in terms of wordcount – slightly worried about ballooning words-per-chapter ratio, as either this will continue (making the book gigantic), or it will reverse (possibly making this section of the book too heavy for its position). But we’ll see. As I’ve said, first aim is to actually finish writing it.

Oh, and I’ve been on-and-off writing that second post about the Canticles of Leibowitz that I should have written months ago. Will be up shortly. The next book to be reviewed will probably be “Little, Big”. First impression: yay, proper English! I grew up with Tolkien and Wilde as my role models in English prose (The Lord of the Rings was the first book I ever read, and I read it several times a year until I became a teenager, so it had quite an influence); it’s wonderful to read modern prose that isn’t afraid to meander if it knows that it can be attractive doing it. I hope to one day write like that myself (although at present I mostly prevent myself from attempting it, knowing that without discipline I’ll soon be straying into page-long sentences festooned with recondite vocabulary and endless, bizarre metaphors).

Second impressions: hmm. Not actually creating any grippingness so far. Very little compulsion to read on. That said, I’m not far in, so we’ll have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

