A Complete Discworld Re-Read Project

I’ve recently decided to…   OK, so I actually started this almost a year ago. It took about six months to realise I should probably put them all on one page for the sake of convenience. Aaand another little while to actually do it. Don’t hold your breath, there’s plenty of opportunity for something to go wrong yet between now and when I hit the ‘publish’ button… … but, assuming that this does actually get published, here we go.

It’s pretty self-explanatory, I’m re-reading Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels. In order (mostly). All of them. I got this idea a few years ago when Adam (see! not just me that fails to put up helpful index pages! On the other hand, unlike me, his blog is easily searchable by author name…) came up with it (hopefully, unlike him, I’ll actually finish…), and then finally got spurred into action when I saw that Nathan was doing it too (both more quickly than me and in a far more organised fashion).

So, here you can find reviews for:

The Colour of Magic
The Light Fantastic

Equal Rites
Wyrd Sisters
Guards! Guards!
(read out of order because I couldn’t find my copy)
Moving Pictures

Reaper Man
Witches Abroad
Small Gods
Lords and Ladies
Men at Arms
Soul Music I
nteresting Times
(finally found and read after Feet of Clay…)
Feet of Clay
Hogfather (temporarily skipped; however, I did write this review of it a few years before I started this re-read)

The Last Continent
Carpe Jugulum
The Fifth Elephant
The Truth
Thief of Time
The Last Hero
The Amazing Maurice and His Educated
Rodents (Read for the first time)
Night Watch
The Wee Free Men 
(Read for the first time)
Monstrous Regiment
A Hat Full of Sky
(Never Yet Read)
Going Postal
(Never Yet Read)
Making Money
Unseen Academicals (not technically part of the re-read, but I have reviewed this before, way back in ’09)
I Shall Wear Midnight
(Never Yet Read)
Snuff (again, I reviewed this when it came out)
Raising Steam
(Never Yet Read)
The Shepherd’s Crown (Not Yet Published)
This may take a while… In the meantime, those interested in Pratchett may want to check out my other Pratchett reviews. So far, that means reviews of all three Johnny Maxwell novels, and of The Carpet People. Shortly after Pterry’s death, I also put up my eulogy/analysis, ten reasons why people are so upset about his death. Oh, and in case you haven’t noticed, you can find all of my book reviews on this page here.

8 thoughts on “A Complete Discworld Re-Read Project

  1. […] Midnight Snuff Interesting Links- Not exactly Discworld, but Ana has a nice review of Good Omens -Wastrel has begun to embark on a complete reread of his own. Check it out for another opinion. -A great […]

  2. […] mid-March something I thought I would have read by Christmas.  The fact is I just didn’t care.  Wastrel is slowly catching up to me and will no doubt tell me everything I missed in quite a lot of detail […]

  3. […] Raising Steam Interesting Links- Not exactly Discworld, but Ana has a nice review of Good Omens -Wastrel has begun to embark on a complete reread of his own. Check it out for another opinion. -A great […]

  4. […] hardly the first to do this – the Vacuous Wastrel complete Discworld reread project has been a neat way of pushing me into embarking on the same journey. I’ll start with The Colour […]

  5. jshupac says:

    Hey, I’m loving your reviews, thanks for taking the time to do this project! I haven’t read any Pratchett in a long time, except for Snuff when it came out (which was sadly the first of his books that I wasn’t able to finish, though like you I did enjoy it), and I’ve actually never read any of his pre-Small Gods Discworld novels outside of Pyramids, Mort, Guards Guards, and The Colour of Magic. I had always just sort of assumed that Pratchett’s best run came in between Feet of Clay and Going Postal (so I am to read your future reviews), but you are making me doubt this assumption. I think now I will have to buy Lords and Ladies, to see what all the fuss is about!

    …on a totally unrelated note, I have a blog as well, on a totally unrelated subject. Check it out: future-economics.net

  6. jshupac says:

    *(so I am excited to read your future reviews)

  7. Thanks!
    Spoiler: my assumption going in is that his best run was from around Reaper Man through to around Feet of Clay. But we’ll see. [My memories of later Pratchett are also distorted by the fact I never read the Tiffany novels]

    (And who doesn’t like geopolitical and geoeconomic forecasting? I’ve spent quite a lot of time thinking about it for my worldbuilding hobby – although the questions that interest me are usually further in the distance)

  8. OK, now why has WordPress taken all my paragraph breaks out of this? *sigh*

    Oh. OK. WHENEVER I edit a page using the normal, new and improved editor, it takes out all the line and paragraph breaks. How helpful an improvement!

    So I need to go all the way in a circle through my blog admin page to get to the OLD (i.e. actually functional) editor.

    Innovation on the internet: a process of making everything gradually more shit.

Leave a Reply

