A Song of Ice and Fire

For the sake of neatness and convenience, I should probably have an index page for these reviews. So here it is.

 

A Game of Thrones
A Clash of Kings
A Storm of Swords
A Feast for Crows
A Dance with Dragons

 

Yeah, there are only reviews of the beginning and the end right now. This is because I read the first three ten years ago, and then re-read them before the fourth book, but that was also before I began blogging reviews of what I was reading. With the TV show coming out, and the fifth book, I re-read the first volume to get myself back into the world, but got distracted from following on with the later volumes. I may get around to it eventually. Or not. If anyone’s really curious, I thought the second and third books got progressively better as they went on, but the fourth book was a big disappointment.

5 thoughts on “A Song of Ice and Fire

  1. Nathan says:

    The forth book was much better after reading the fifth book for some reason. That said, as it sits, the fifth book is not something I am jumping for joy to read again.

  2. I went into Book Four wanting a chance to catch my breath after the terrifically paced A Storm of Swords, so I was okay with the “resetting the pieces” aspect, where the new power players stretched their muscles (and in Cersei’s case, got a muscle cramp.)

    There’s a site online: boiledleather.com, which lists a chapter ordering to read Books 4 and 5 at the same time, which I’ve heard is a much better experience than reading Book 4 completely then Book 5. (I haven’t done this, but I think I will before Book 6 comes out.)

  3. kim @ A Fictional Universe says:

    I really wish Martin could pick up his writing pace… If he wasn`t so good a writer I would long ago stopped reading his books out of spite for his slowness.

  4. True enough… although I think it was Martin himself who pointed out the 15 year wait between Demon Princes books that Vance fans had to endure…

  5. I really hope that he is not using him as a guideline. Just because another person got away with it dos not mean it is OK to treat fans like that.

Leave a Reply

