Today I learnt…

…getting a minor link in passing in an io9 article makes getting linked by reddit look like a normal day. Seriously: the scale is so different that on my stats chart everything up to the moment io9 linked me is now just a straight line… I had more views yesterday than in March, and March was a good month…

Not that I’m complaining or anything. Or excited, really – 90% of those views probably just saw how ridiculously long my post was and closed the window, 10% prodded a few pages and then closed the window, and maybe a handful might check back some time. Which isn’t a problem, but I’m not expecting any long-term effect of this brief public exposure. [I’m slightly curious why io9’s writer chose to link to me in the first place – I’m flattered, but it’s not like I’m well-known. I’m guessing they just googled the book to collect thoughts when they were writing the post and mind happened to come up for some reason.]

But anyway, if any of you io9 people happen to have hung around to read this: hi! Feel free to poke around, and feel freer to comment on anything.